Luke’s Ukes #2: The Dutchman (Michael Smith Cover)

It’s been nearly a month since I uploaded the first installment of Luke’s Ukes, and it’s had about one view a day. That’s not bad for a sudden first appearance. I expect it’ll grow over time, as people do searches for Mark Knopfler and Dire Straits and find lowly old me.

People are not going to search for Michael Peter Smith with nearly the same frequency, which is part of why I chose this lovely little song for #2. I probably should have waited until I have a good viewership with random super-popular songs, then thrown in a pretty little curveball like “The Dutchman.” But I really do love this song and I think it sounds nice (best, maybe) on a small unassuming ukulele. Since I’m trying to go from most to least appropriate uke songs, so that eventually people who don’t like my style still get captivated by my zany-ness, this seems as good a place as any for it.

The song was made famous by Steve Goodman, a wonderful songwriter taken from us too soon. But MPS is still alive, and could use a few more fans I’m sure. Look him up!

Thus: Luke’s Ukes #2: The Dutchman. Excelsior! Hope you enjoy it! (Disclaimer: support the songwriter, Michael Peter Smith, if you can).

Leave a Reply

